Off the Coast, Maine's International Poetry Journal

WINTER 2014: "Ice Fishing"


Debra Arter teaches printmaking at the Midcoast Printmakers studio. She received her MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts in 2008.

Tara Ballard lived in the West Bank for two years, now resides in the Gulf, and returns home to Alaska each summer.

Ace Boggess is the author of The Prisoners (Brick Road Poetry) and The Beautiful Girl Whose Wish Was Not Fulfilled (Highwire, 2003).

Russell Buker, retired teacher and coach, lives by a lake in Maine.

Michael Cantor's Life in the Second Circle (Able Muse Press, 2012), was a finalist for the 2013 Massachusetts Book Award for Poetry.

Duane K. Caylor, a physician, has been both a Morton Marr Award and Howard Nemerov Award finalist.

Ruth Foley teaches at Wheaton College and serves as Managing Editor for Cider Press Review. Her chapbook Dear Turquoise, is available from Dancing Girl Press (2013).

Tina Garvin, completing her BFA at the Illinois Institute of Art, lives in Chicago and the foothills of the Adirondacks.

Kathleen Gunton is working on a portfolio of images from her trip to Ireland and Scotland.

Karen Greenbaum-Maya has two chapbooks, Burrowing Song and Eggs Satori (Kattywompus). See

Michael Hanner 's autobiography, Vivaldi, is fresh out from Tebot Bach, 2013.

Toni Hanner 's Gertrude (Traprock) was a finalist for the 2013 Oregon Book Award. The Ravelling Braid (Tebot Bach. 2012) was reviewed in Off the Coast (Winter 2013).

Ivan Hobson , a recent graduate of San Francisco SU, is a fourth-generation machinist in a shop his grandfather built.

Lynn Hoffman has a chapbook, Boom: Poems for a Certain Generation, forthcoming from Thunderclap Press.

Scott Hutchison has work forthcoming in Amoskeag, Kestrel, Aethlon, and The Waterhouse Review.

Peter Ingrasselino 's photography has won numerous awards and been displayed in galleries in the Charleston, SC area.

Lisa T.W. Jones is an English instructor, editor, and winner of an international sonnet competition.

Mary Ann Larkin is author of That Deep and Steady Hum (Broadkill River, 2010) and five chapbooks.

Steve Lautermilch 's Where Waters Meet is forthcoming in North Carolina Conversations, where it received the Linda Flowers Award.

Carl Little 's latest book is Irene Hardwicke Olivieri: Closer to Wildness, forthcoming from Pomegranate.

Andy Macera is a graduate of Washington College, Chestertown, MD.

Stephen Malin 's Underlight (Word Press) is expected in July.

Michael O'Connor lived in Ireland, moved to New York City to do screenwriting, and now writes non-fiction about the Second World War.

Sharon Olson 's The Long Night of Flying, was published in 2006. Cider Press Review nominated one of her poems for a Pushcart Prize.

Sierra Schepmann is a writer, actress, and photographer living in Los Angeles. She is originally from Cincinnati, OH.

M.E. Silverman 's submission comes from The Last Jew, an unpublished manuscript.

Mike Smetzer has two chapbooks: A Quiet Man (Baggeboda Press, 1988) and Teaching the Clergy to Dance (Manic Monkey Books, 1996). He was editor of Naked Man literary magazine.

Joannie Stangeland 's In Both Hands (Ravenna Press) is forthcoming.

Sherri Stepakoff performs at Boston area venues, including HCAM's Wake Up and Smell the Poetry, Gallery 55, Amazing Things Art Center, and the Emerson Umbrella Art Center.

Bradley R. Strahan was recently the Fulbright Professor of Poetry & American Culture in the Balkans. His fifth book is This Art of Losing (Brickhouse, 2011).

Kent Thompson is an excellent videographer.

C.S. Vincent, a youth poet, has been published in The Artistic Muse.

Benjamin Weinberg was elementary principal at the American International School of Johannesburg for 14 years and now holds that position at the American School of Madrid.

Sandy Weisman owns the artists' community 26 Split Rock Cove overlooking the Mussel Ridge Channel in South Thomaston, ME.

Laurelyn Whitt is the author of Interstices (Logan House, 2006). Her latest, Tether, was published in 2013 by Seraphim Editions.

Harold Whit Williams ' Backmasking won the 2013 Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize from Texas Review Press. He is guitarist for the rock band Cotton Mather.