Off the Coast, Maine's International Poetry Journal

SUMMER 2014: "Everything to Purpose"


Alexis Beale won third place in the 2014 MCPL Teen Advisory Group Poetry Competition and will attend the University of Maryland in the fall.

Chrystal Berche often pairs three-minute gesture drawings with still life photography and creates a final image in Photoshop.

Ace Boggess is the author of two books of poetry: The Prisoners (Brick Road Poetry Press, 2014) and The Beautiful Girl Whose Wish Was Not Fulfilled (Highwire Press, 2003).

Paul Bonneau in 2011 was awarded first place in the Impressionism Landscape category by the jurors of the American Art Award.

Barbara Caceres completed a nonfiction writing program at the University of Washington in 2011 and works full time in the healthcare industry.

Danny Caine is pursuing an MFA at the University of Kansas.

Jennifer Campbell is a co-editor of Earth's Daughters. Her second book of poetry, Supposed to Love, was published by Saddle Road Press in 2013.

Philip Carlsen is a composer and professor of music at the University of Maine at Farmington.

Amaya Cary is a student at Hudson High School.

Susana H. Case is a photographer and the author of four full-length collections, including Elvis Presley's Hips & Mick Jagger's Lips (Anaphora Literary Press, 2013), and 4 Rms w Vu (Mayapple Press, 2014). Visit her online at:

Duane Caylor recently received honorable mention for his entry in the Frost Farm Prize and has been a finalist for both the Nemerov Sonnet Award and the Morton Marr Poetry Award.

Christina Clark is an MFA candidate in poetry at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

Megan Collins teaches creative writing at the Greater Hartford Academy of the Arts and literature at Central Connecticut State University.

Kristin Dashiell is a creative writing MFA candidate at Sewanee, The University of the South.

Deborah Doolittle teaches at Coastal Carolina Community College. She is the author of two award-winning chapbooks.

Hollie Dugas is currently enrolled in the Creative Writing Programs at the University of Lafayette, Louisiana.

Laura English lives in Lancaster County PA, where she works with autistic children.

Ben Gunsberg is an English professor at Utah State University. His poetry manuscript, Cut Time, won the University of Michigan's Hopwood Award for Poetry Writing.

Toni Hanner has two books: The Ravelling Braid (Tebot Bach, 2012) and Gertrude, poems and other objects (Traprock, 2012).

Stephen Hoffmann recently won first place in the Arts Alive flash fiction contest sponsored by the Gulf Coast Writer's Association. In 2010 he was named Best Writer in a 2010 Air Force media contest.

Peter Ingrasselino has won numerous local, national and international awards and his art has been displayed in a few galleries in the Charleston, SC area.

Lillian Kwok lives and studies in Sweden while completing her MFA at the Vermont College of Fine Arts.

Mercedes Lawry has received honors from the Seattle Arts Commission, Jack Straw Foundation, Artist Trust, and Richard Hugo House.

Peter Leight has published poems in Paris Review, Partisan Review, AGNI, Western Humanities Review, and other magazines.

Lauren Lewis lives in central New York with her family and is inspired by nature.

Morgan Liphart is a recent graduate of Bradley University and won runner-up in the 2012 Academy of American Poets' Prize.

Maria Lipiskova's not-shooting (2013) won the competition of the Ministry of Culture of Bulgaria.

Peter MacQuarrie's work has appeared in many magazines and a few anthologies.

Theodore Matel has won awards in numerous youth poetry contests, including River of Words, Sarah Mook, and The Scholastic Art and Writing Award.

Arthur McMaster teaches at Converse College and has two published chapbooks.

Paul Douglas McNeill II is an English professor from North Carolina now living in Brooklyn, NY.

Bruce McRae is a Pushcart-nominee and Canadian musician with over 800 publications. To hear his music and view more poems visit

Sally Molini is a freelance writer and co-founder of Cerise Press (

Tendai Rinos Mwanaka has two books forthcoming, Playing to Love's Gallery (DIP, 2014), a poetry collection; and a novel, A Dark Energy (Aignos, 2014).

John Palen's Open Communion: New and Selected Poems was published by Mayapple Press in 2005.

Jessica Purdy has a chapbook forthcoming from Finishing Line Press.

Jenny Raha earned an MFA in poetry in 2013 from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Brad Rose is a 2013 recipient of Camroc Press Review's Editor's Favorite Poetry Award. Link to him at:

Patricia Saunders worked as journalist, technical editor, and caregiver for her parents before she began writing poems.

JL Schneider is a carpenter and an adjunct professor of English. Visit him at

Lee Sharkey is the author of Calendars of Fire (Tupelo, 2013) and nine earlier poetry collections and chapbooks. See her work at

Noel Sloboda is the author of two poetry collections, most recently Our Rarer Monsters (sunnyoutside, 2013). He serves as dramaturg for the Harrisburg Shakespeare Company.

Karin Spitfire is the author of Standing with Trees (Illuminated Sea, 2005) and is a past poet Laureate of Belfast, Maine.

D. E. Steward writes a serial month-to-month in a project now in its twenty-eighth year.

Dolores Stewart has two collections of poems: Doors to the Universe and The Nature of Things, both by Bellowing Ark Press.

Linda Ann Strang is the author of Wedding Underwear for Mermaids (Honest, 2007). She teaches writing in South Africa.

Jane Stuart is working on sonnets, haiku, and cinquain, and enjoying the change of seasons.

Rose Swartz is a writer and visual artist who practices darkroom photography and travels frequently. She is former poetry editor for Hayden's Ferry Review.

Judy Taylor she was awarded the commission in 2007 to paint the History of Labor in Maine which was subsequently removed by Gov. Paul LePage.

Noah Thaman is a freelance writer and MFA student at Butler University. He also practices sports medicine in Indianapolis.

Jeri Theriault has three chapbooks and teaches in the English Department at the Waynflete School in Portland, ME.

Christopher R. Vaughan received a Best of the Net award in 2011 and has been a featured reader in venues in Milwaukee, Boston, and Minneapolis.

Brendan Walsh is finishing up a year-long Fulbright Grant in Laos.

Kathy Weinberg is a visual artist who works on museum restoration and installation projects. This September she will share a two-person show at the Betts Gallery in Belfast, ME.

Kami Westhoff has been published in such journals as Meridian, Phoebe, The Madison Review, Third Coast, and Carve.

Sarah White is the author of Alice Ages and Ages (BlazeVox, 2010); Cleopatra Haunts the Hudson (Spuyten Duyvil, 2007); and The Poem Has Reasons: a Story of Far Love, a book-length lyric essay online at www.

Gary Wilkens, Assistant Professor of English at Norfolk State University, won the 2006 Texas Review Breakthrough Poetry Prize for his first book, The Red Light Was My Mind.

Back to Top